why the mac can’t write to your external hard drive

This post has moved to: why the mac can’t write to your external hard drive (at http://sharingthemacexperience.blogspot.com/)

One Response to why the mac can’t write to your external hard drive

  1. Simon says:

    Hey.

    I have the same problem. And it DRIVES me crazy.
    I bought an external hard drive for my pictures and videos, because they were taking up a lot of space on my mac. But i just couldn’t get it to function. By accident i clicked the ‘time machine’ button, and the right after i switched it off again. This must have automatically formatted the hd, because now it works fine. i can both read, and write to it.
    Another problem came up when a friend of mine wanted some of my pictures on his external hard drive. He uses a pc, and therefore i could only read his files, not write to his hd.
    Still can’t. and it drives me crazy.

    But yes – that is a major compatibility problem with mac and pc.

